NJ Department of Environmental Protection

On America’s first official “Earth Day” — April 22, 1970, the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection was born. New Jersey became the third state in the country to consolidate its past programs into a unified major agency to administer aggressive environmental protection and conservation efforts. Former Governor William T. Cahill appointed Richard J. Sullivan as the first commissioner.

Since that day, NJDEP began a role to manage natural resources and solve pollution problems. In what started with about 1,400 employees in five divisions, NJDEP now has a staff of approximately 2,900 and is a leader in the country for its pollution prevention efforts and innovative environmental management strategies.

NJDEP Website

Commissioner’s Office

Phone Directory

Rules and Regulations

See the links below to download the latest permits:

NJ Basic Industrial General Stormwater Permit (5G2)

NJ Construction Activity General Stormwater Permit (5G3)

NJ Tier A Municipal Stormwater General Permit

NJ Tier B Municipal Stormwater General Permit